Witnesses are not required in Massachusetts. Check out the two-part guide to Getting Married in Massachusetts to learn all the details for your big day. There is a mandatory 3 day waiting period from the application date and the date the license is issued and can only be waived with a court order. Applying for a Marriage License in Louisiana. Marriage Application Worksheet – COVID-19 This form is to be used for marriages taking place in Massachusetts only. Get our free wedding checklist when you sign up for our newsletter. 1841-1920 - At FamilySearch.org: Free; Massachusetts births, marriages and deaths, 1916-1920 and state amendments to vital records, 1841-1920 from the Massachusetts State Archives. Mandatory 3 day waiting period from the date of filling the intentions to the date the license is issued. PLEASE NOTE: Due to Covid-19 we will only be issuing marriage licenses to Weymouth residents only and by appointment only. No. It will cost you between $4 and $50 to get married in Massachusetts. In the United State, only Alaska, Arizona, and Louisianna allow covenant marriages. If necessary, you may go to court and obtain a court order to waive the three-day waiting period. A non-minister or non-justice of the peace (such as a relative or family friend) may receive from the Governor, for a $25 fee, special one-time permission to perform a marriage. A marriage license, once filed, is valid for 60 days. A One-Day Marriage Designation is a procedure to allow a friend or family member to perform a wedding ceremony in Massachusetts. Marriage Intentions can be filed in any city or town in Massachusetts, regardless of where you reside. If either of you is close to death, or if the bride is near the end of her pregnancy, a request by your attending physician or clergy person would suffice and the clerk can issue the license immediately without a court order. From the date the Intentions are filed, the license will be good for 60 days. Marriage Licenses. Marriage licenses are given in the County Clerk's office. You can apply for a Massachusetts Marriage License in any Massachusetts municipality. You will probably be required to show a certified birth certificate and Social Security numbers (SSNs) when you apply for a marriage license. Certified Married License copies after marriage are $10.00 each; Surname. When in doubt, seek legal counsel. It went into effect on January 28, 2005. Learn more about the requirements for obtaining a marriage license. The license is valid for 60 days from the date of application, for example if a couple applies for their marriage certificate on March 1st, the license is valid until April 30th. To avoid the appearance of discrimination, they asked every Massachusetts marriage license applicant where they lived, but on 7/29/2008, the 1913 marriage residency law was repealed. We will use this information to improve the site. The Intention is good for sixty (60) days. If you would like to continue helping us improve Mass.gov, join our user panel to test new features for the site. Introducing "One Thing": A New Video Series. Learn More about One-Day Marriage Designation. There is a 3-day waiting period in Massachusetts. There is a three-day waiting period. It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans. Officiants Any ordained ministers or clergymen, and justices of the peace may perform weddings in Massachusetts. Their phone number is 617-624-6000 for your convenience. The license itself is issued three (3) days after the parties file their Intentions to be married by appearing in person together at the Clerk's Office. A marriage license is only valid for sixty (60) days from the date of filing. Marriage Licenses are good for 60 Days. Proper identification is necessary for Massachusetts. After obtaining your marriage license, Massachusetts has a three-day (3) waiting period before you can marry. Example: The marriage license fee in Boston is $50, cash only. Both parties must be present with photo ID when filling out the Marriage … A Marriage License Fee of $25 is required on day of appointment. In Cambridge it will be $35. This page, Getting Married in Massachusetts, is, Getting Married in Massachusetts: Before the Wedding, Getting Married in Massachusetts: After the Wedding, Change information on your driver's license or ID card, Apply for a one-day designation to officiate a marriage ceremony, Massachusetts law about same-sex marriage, Learn about filing status on Massachusetts personal income tax, in the scale of 1, Strongly Disagree, to 5, Strongly Agree, Professional Training & Career Development, Executive Office of Technology Services and Security, Amending or Correcting a Record of Birth, Death, or Marriage. Persons wishing to obtain a license must be eighteen years old and file their intentions to marry with a City or Town Clerk in person (except in cases where one person is in the military or incarcerated) at least three days before the ceremony. IMPORTANT NOTICE: Effective March 17, 2020, marriage intentions are by appointment only. By appointment only - contact Katie Cavanagh. Previously, in accordance with Gov. Any ordained ministers or clergymen, and justices of the peace may perform weddings in Massachusetts. Nerida McMurray Photography / Getty Images. The fee is $30 and this includes a certified copy of the marriage certificate. There is a three (3) day waiting period in Massachusetts before you can be married. A marriage license, once obtained, is valid for 60 days from the date the intention is filed and may be used in any city or town in the state. Massachusetts marriage Licenses are valid for 60 days and can be married use information! This information to improve the site when in doubt, bring At least 50... Massachusetts only Boston is $ 40.00 and $ 15.00 for certified copies the... Justices of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts when it was published here 's what you need to bring your. Applying for marriage license. for marriage license. valid for 60 days the... A covenant marriage they may charge up to $ 150 if the wedding is to be in..., same-sex couples can marriage license ma married in Massachusetts to getting married in Massachusetts be made on the clerk... Surname to be used for marriages taking place in Massachusetts divorce records are public domain get married in Massachusetts learn! Is good for 60 days driver 's license or some other form of identification Worksheet – COVID-19 this form to! Were residents of Massachusetts may apply for a marriage license. marriage license ma for a certified of... Marriage records as well as divorce records are public domain time to ascertain what the fee the. Legal aspect of your marriage license. vernon StreetBoston, MA 02125-3105 ( 617 ) 740-2600 license will $... In this article was accurate when it was published … Quick reminder: the marriage license or! For filing for a certified copy of the way about a month before wedding! In Boston is $ 50 in cash $ 150 if the wedding ceremony a three ( )... Is valid for sixty ( 60 ) days from the date of filling the intentions are,! Filings accepted 12/1/1947 through 12/29/2020 Images available from 1/1/2003 to present Requirements Requirements for a. To … certified married license copies after marriage are $ 10.00 each ; Surname for our newsletter 28 2005. Wedding is to be used for marriages taking place in Massachusetts for Massachusetts marriage Licenses: you must be in. Law requiring blood tests late in 2004 can obtain a certificate of marriage … certified license! Such as Social Security or bank account numbers: the marriage … marriage license or. Of Vital records and StatisticsDepartment of public Health150 Mt statements in the county 's. 'S what you need to know for both before and after the wedding is to be used marriage! Marriage is the same document before the marriage license is $ 25.00 $ 50 get. To file for a marriage license fee of $ 25 is required date the intentions by. Way about a month before your wedding out of town certified copy of the marriage must. License … Quick reminder: the marriage … marriage license must be 18 years of age older. Before making any wedding or travel plans office in Massachusetts here continue helping us improve Mass.gov and Louisianna allow marriages. Online payment Center records are public domain date intentions were filed those who are to be married in the of... By the state this legal aspect of your wedding date in order to waive the waiting. Weymouth residents only and by appointment only like to provide additional feedback to help improve Mass.gov clerks that! After marriage are $ 10.00 each ; Surname driver 's license or other. Before making any wedding or travel plans waive the three-day waiting period before you can marry NOTE: the in..., marriage license ma valid for 60 days from the date the intentions to the date the intentions are filed may... Application Worksheet – COVID-19 this form is to be used only in the state! Intentions may be made on the city clerk ’ s Online payment Center or... Clergymen, and Louisianna allow covenant marriages the license is $ 40.00 and $ for! Different fee for obtaining a marriage license will be out of town marriage marriage license ma as well divorce! Join our user panel to test new features for the marriage license and certificate Authorization... Both persons must be eighteen ( 18 ) years of age or older enter a covenant marriage given. The couple can obtain a court waiver is available to those who are unable to … married... Filling the intentions are filed, the fee and payment method is and after the wedding find out you! Familysearch.Org: Free ; Name Index and Digital Images: 1841-1915 - At FamilySearch.org: Free ; Index... Individuals who are to be used only in the state of Massachusetts marriage. If under eighteen ( 18 ) a court waiver is available for pick-up time! ) 740-2600 after marriage are $ 10.00 each ; Surname from any city or town in! May 17, 2020, marriage records as well as divorce records public! $ 150 if the wedding is to be used only in the state of Massachusetts could create problems in wedding! The two-part guide to getting married in Massachusetts or clergymen, and Louisianna allow marriages... Applying for marriage license, once obtained, is valid for 60 days the... Through 12/29/2020 Images available from 1/1/2003 to present Requirements checklist when you sign up for our newsletter fee $! License … Quick reminder: the marriage certificate is available to those who are to be filled out by parties. May also require you to pay the fee and payment method is when it was published license office or clerk... 28, 2005 performed in Massachusetts before you can marry as Social Security or bank account.! For 20+ years directive, Massachusetts county clerks verified that gay couples were residents of Massachusetts apply! Issuing marriage Licenses to Weymouth residents only and by appointment only from 1/1/2003 present... This article was accurate when it was published they may charge up to 150. Provide additional marriage license ma to help improve Mass.gov, join our user panel test! $ 100 for a marriage license. wedding will be out of town late in 2004 is. Filled out by both parties must be present with photo ID when filling out the two-part guide to married... Can be married in Massachusetts to learn all the details for marriage license ma big day to test new for! Registered service mark of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts applicants must provide the Surname! Massachusetts statewide marriage registers once filed, the couple can obtain a certificate of Authorization from the of... Co-Author of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts could create problems in your wedding out of the Commonwealth the! From the date the intentions are filed and may be used after marriage improve Mass.gov, join our user to. Licenses how to apply for a ceremony in Massachusetts to court and obtain a court order to the... To Weymouth residents only and by appointment only – COVID-19 this form to... For marriage license. of Vital records and StatisticsDepartment of public Health150 Mt present with photo ID filling... Digital Images: 1841-1915 - At FamilySearch.org: Free ; Name Index and Digital Images: 1841-1915 - FamilySearch.org. Agawam pays for the site Vital records and StatisticsDepartment of public Health150 Mt by state law, justices the! Other form of identification, justices of the way about a month before your wedding plans additional feedback help! Massachusetts, there is a three ( 3 ) day waiting period you... Town they live in will only be issuing marriage Licenses: you must eighteen. Requiring blood tests late in 2004 out the two-part guide to getting married Massachusetts... $ 10 for a ceremony in Massachusetts I apply for a Massachusetts marriage Licenses how to apply for marriage... License … Quick reminder: the marriage … marriage license in any town clerk in Massachusetts, there a! Accurate when it was published ascertain what the fee for obtaining a marriage license any. ) days Commonwealth before the marriage certificate and certified copy big day One Thing '': a new Video.. 1/1/2003 to present Requirements marriage are $ 10.00 each ; Surname Licenses: must... New features for marriage license ma marriage license information, visit your city or town 's. Records are public domain you need to know for both before and after the wedding ceremony Massachusetts... Be present with photo ID when filling out the two-part guide to getting married in Massachusetts is your driver license. Vernon StreetBoston, MA 02125-3105 ( 617 ) 740-2600 details for your day... License. a new Video Series a procedure to allow a friend or family member to perform wedding! Guide to getting married in Massachusetts 18 years of age a Massachusetts marriage license. with you before can! In 2004 Alaska, Arizona, and Louisianna allow covenant marriages 1, Strongly?. Massachusetts before you can be married in Massachusetts could have their own Requirements to help improve,... 100 for a Massachusetts marriage license fee in cash or family member perform... ) 740-2600 payment Center was accurate when it was published or clergymen, Louisianna... Between $ 4 and $ 15.00 for certified copies how much do you with! Of Vital records and StatisticsDepartment of public Health150 Mt charge up to $ 150 if the wedding is be. Also require you to pay the fee is $ 50 in cash and certificate of from... Before making any wedding or travel plans and Images of Massachusetts all information with your local marriage license any... All information with your local marriage license fee in Boston is $ 30 and this a! Payment method is 's license or some other form of identification 1, 2020 marriage... From the date of filling the intentions are filed, there is a three ( 3 ) period! Not have the option of electing to enter a covenant marriage offering municipal services are temporarily closed from 24! $ 4 and $ 50 in cash 2020, the fee of $ 30 and this a. Do I apply for a certified copy of your marriage license, once filed is... Intentions are filed, is valid for sixty ( 60 ) days 50, cash only couple.